Definitions

A vegetarian is defined as "someone living on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits with or without the use of dairy products and eggs".

A vegetaraian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or slaughter by-products.

Other terms used to describe variations of a meat- and fish-free diet include:

Lacto- ovo vegetarian: the most popular type of vegetarian, eating both dairy products and eggs.

Lacto-vegetarian: eats dairy products but not eggs.

Pescatarian: abstains from eating meat but eats fish and seafood.

Vegan: does not eat diary products, eggs or any other animal products, nor use any products derived from animals.

Confusion sometimes arises when fish dishes are offered as a vegetarian alternative to meat! This seems to have been compounded by some "celebrities" saying they are vegetarian when they are actually pescatarians.

Nowadays, the abbreviation "veg*an" is often used as short hand instead of "vegetarian and vegan".